2019 Drama League Award Winners: HADESTOWN, THE FERRYMAN, THE WAVERLY GALLERY, KISS, ME KATE, Bryan Cranston, Kelli O’Hara, Taylor Mac and Alex Timbers

André De Shields, Beth Leavel and John Lithgow. Photo by Lia Chang

The 85th Annual Drama League Awards were held at the Marriott Marquis Times Square on Friday, May 17.

André De Shields. Photo by Lia Chang

First awarded in 1922 and formalized in 1935, The Drama League Awards are the oldest theatrical honors in America. They are the only major theater awards chosen by a cross-section of the theatre community – specifically, by the industry professionals, producers, artists, audiences, and critics who are Drama League members nationwide.

Kay Trinidad, Rachel Chavkin, Jordan Roth, a guest, Michael Krass, Anais Mitchell and Yvette Gonzalez-Nacer. Photo by Lia Chang

2019 Drama League awards were presented to Hadestown for Outstanding Production of a Musical, Kiss Me, Kate for Outstanding Revival of a Musical, The Ferryman for Outstanding Production of a Play and The Waverly Gallery for Outstanding Revival of a Play.

Gary: A Sequel to Titus Andronicus stars Julie White and Kristine Nielsen co-hosted the festivities.

Bryan Cranston, who is Tony-nominated for his role as Howard Beale in Network,  took home the Distinguished Performance Award. Cranston received a Drama League nomination in 2014 for his Broadway debut in All the Way, and won the Tony Award for his performance as Lyndon B. Johnson.

Special Recognition Awards were presented to Tony® Award winner Kelli O’Hara (Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theater Award),  director Alex Timbers (The Founders Award for Excellence in Directing) and Taylor Mac (Unique Contribution to the Theater Award).

Alex Timbers and the creative team of MOULIN ROUGE! Photo by Lia Chang
AIN’T TOO PROUD: Sergio Trujillo, Derrick Baskin, Dominique Morisseau, Jeremy Pope, Jawan M. Jackson. Photo by Lia Chang
The cast and creative team of OAKLAHOMA. Photo by Lia Chang
BY THE WAY, MEET VERA STARK: Lynn Nottage, Jessica Frances Dukes, Kamilah Forbes. Photo by Lia Chang
Jessica Frances Dukes, Kamilah Forbes. Photo by Lia Chang
The cast and creative team of BE MORE CHILL. Photo by Lia Chang
The 2019 Drama League fellows. Photo by Lia Chang
The 2019 Drama League Awards. Photo by Lia Chang
The 2019 Drama League Awards. Photo by Lia Chang

André De Shields, Eva Noblezada, Amber Gray, Patrick Page and More Among 14 Tony Nominations for HADESTOWN including Best Musical; Full List of Nominees

HADESTOWN Star André De Shields to receive the 2019 Richard Seff Award from the Actors’ Equity Foundation on June 11 

Lia Chang
Lia Chang

Lia Chang is an actor, a multi-media content producer and co-founder of Bev’s Girl Films, making films that foster inclusion and diversity on both sides of the camera. Bev’s Girl Films’ debut short film, Hide and Seek was a top ten film in the Asian American Film Lab’s 2015 72 Hour Shootout Filmmaking Competition, and she received a Best Actress nomination. BGF collaborates with and produces multi-media content for artists, actors, designers, theatrical productions, composers,  musicians and corporations. Lia is also an internationally published and exhibited photographer, a multi-platform journalist, and a publicist. Lia has appeared in the films Wolf, New Jack City, A Kiss Before Dying, King of New York, Big Trouble in Little China, The Last Dragon, Taxman and Hide and Seek. She is profiled in Jade Magazine and Playbill.com.

All text, graphics, articles & photographs: © 2000-2019 Lia Chang Multimedia. All rights reserved. All materials contained on this site are protected by United States copyright law and may not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, displayed, published or broadcast without the prior written permission of Lia Chang. You may not alter or remove any trademark, copyright or other notice from copies of the content. For permission, please contact Lia at liachangpr@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s