Sept. 26: André De Shields, BD Wong, Ruthie Ann Miles, Kristin Chenoweth, Jake Gyllenhaal, Christopher Jackson, Audra McDonald, Lin Manuel-Miranda, Bebe Neuwirth, Leslie Odom, Jr., Kelli O’Hara, Jeremy Pope, Chita Rivera, Daphne Rubin-Vega, & More Set for “The Tony Awards Presents: Broadway’s Back!” 

The September 26 Tony Awards presentation of the Tony Awards for the 2019–2020 Broadway season includes the awards presentation hosted by Audra McDonald, followed by “The Tony Awards Presents: Broadway’s Back!” hosted by Leslie Odom, Jr. The four-hour, multi-platform show on CBS and Paramount+ will feature a starry line-up of celebrity presenters and musical performances to celebrate Broadway’s return.

This live concert event will feature superstar Broadway entertainers and Tony Award winners re-uniting on stage to perform beloved classics and celebrate the joy and magic of live theatre. It will also include performances by the casts of the three Best Musical contendersJagged Little Pill, Moulin Rouge! The Musical, and Tina—The Tina Turner Musical.

The show will feature blockbuster performances including David Byrne and the cast of American Utopia; John Legend and the cast of Ain’t Too Proud; a reunion of the cast members of Hairspray, including Marissa Jaret Winokur, Matthew Morrison, Kerry Butler, Chester Gregory, and Darlene Love. The evening will conclude with a not-to-be-missed number by the cast of Freestyle Love Supreme featuring Lin-Manuel Miranda, James Monroe Iglehart, Christopher Jackson, Utkarsh Ambudkar, Wayne Brady, Anthony Veneziale, Chris Sullivan, Kiala Mullady, Aneesa Folds, Bill Sherman, Arthur Lewis, Tarik Davis, Andrew Bancroft, Ashley P. Flanagan, and Ian Weinberger.

Artists joining the celebration of Broadway include Jon Batiste, Stephanie J. Block, Wayne Brady, Tituss Burgess, Darren Criss, Robbie Fairchild, Beanie Feldstein, Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Jordan Fisher, Santino Fontana, Andrew Garfield, Jared Grimes, Josh Groban, Jennifer Holliday, Nikki M. James, Jasmine Cephas Jones, Ron Cephas Jones, Cyndi Lauper, Norm Lewis, John Lithgow, Lindsay Mendez, Brian Stokes Mitchell, Jennifer Nettles, Lynn Nottage, Adam Pascal, Bernadette Peters, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Andrew Rannells, Anthony Rapp, Anika Noni Rose, Lea Salonga, Ali Stroker, Black Thought, Courtney B. Vance, Daniel J. Watts and Andrew Lloyd Webber, along with the previously announced Annaleigh Ashford, Kerry Butler, Kristin Chenoweth, André De Shields, Jake Gyllenhaal, Christopher Jackson, Audra McDonald, Idina Menzel, Ruthie Ann Miles, Lin Manuel-Miranda, Bebe Neuwirth, Leslie Odom, Jr., Kelli O’Hara, Ben Platt, Jeremy Pope, Chita Rivera, Daphne Rubin-Vega, and BD Wong.


The 74th Annual Tony Awards/“The Tony Awards® Present: Broadway’s Back!,” a four-hour event across multiple platforms, will celebrate the return to live theatre and commemorate the Tony Awards® for the 2019–2020 Broadway season. The event takes place live from the Winter Garden Theatre in New York City on Sunday, September 26 on CBS and Paramount+.

The Awards Presentation: The evening begins with the presentation of the American Theatre Wing’s 74th Annual Tony Awards® live at 7:00pm ET/live at 4:00pm PT. The ceremony will stream exclusively on Paramount+, hosted by Audra McDonald.

“The Tony Awards® Present: Broadway’s Back!”: Immediately following, Leslie Odom, Jr. will host “The Tony Awards® Present: Broadway’s Back!” from 9:00-11:00pm, live ET/delayed PT on the CBS Television Network and available to stream live and on demand on the CBS app and Paramount+.

You can also follow all the action by following @TheTonyAwards on Twitter and Instagram.

The Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s