Video: André De Shields, Jayne Houdyshell, Myra Lucretia Taylor, Sheila Kay Davis, Larry Owens, Layla Capers, Fiona Morgan Quinn, Walter Russell III and the Jayden Theopile Dancers in “Broadway Baby”

André De Shields, Jayne Houdyshell, Myra Lucretia Taylor and Sheila Kay Davis pass the torch to the next generation of artists including Larry Owens, Layla Capers, Fiona Morgan Quinn, Walter Russell III and the Jayden Theopile Dancers: Reige Bisnought, Carl Ponce Cubero, Nick Drake, Pia Hamilton, Meagan King, Alice Lundgren, and Kirstina Zaidner in “Broadway Baby”.

André De Shields and company
The number was featured as part of In Our America: A Concert for the Soul of the Nation, an all-star virtual event to benefit the Biden Victory Fund, presented by Broadway for Biden and directed by Tony Award® nominee Liesl Tommy, included choreography by Lorin Latarro, Ray Mercer and Abbey O’Brien, Music Direction by Jason Michael Webb, orchestrated by Charlie Rosen. Sean MacLaughlin and Caue Barcelos served as Directors of Photography.
“Broadway Baby” was written by Stephen Sondheim. Used by permission. 
In Our America featured the talents of (full list): Terence Archie, Tala Ashe, Derrick Baskin, Jeannette Bayardelle, Laura Benanti, Alex Boniello, Layla Capers, Ron Cephas Jones, Victoria Clark, Glenn Close, Chuck Cooper, Darren Criss, Nikki Renée Daniels, Quentin Earl Darrington, Eisa Davis, Sheila Kay Davis, André De Shields, Rogelio Douglas Jr., Matt Doyle, Michael Emerson, Renée Elise Goldsberry, Celia Rose Gooding, John Goodman, Jin Ha, James Harkness, William Jackson Harper, Jayne Houdyshell, Jennifer Hudson, James Monroe Iglehart, Aisha Jackson, Jawan M. Jackson, LaTanya Richardson Jackson, Samuel L. Jackson, Isaiah Johnson, Justin Keyes, Hailey Kilgore, LaChanze, Nathan Lane, Norman Lear, Quentin Oliver Lee, John Leguizamo, Telly Leung, Selenis Leyva, Judith Light, Sky Lakota Lynch, Taylor Mac, Nikki Massoud, Rita Moreno, Sahr Ngaujah, Eva Noblezada, Karen Olivo, Okieriete Onaodowan, Larry Owens, Ashley Park, Peppermint, Billy Porter, Carrie Preston, Kelani Queypo, Fiona Morgan Quinn, Jelani Remy, Conrad Ricamora, Lauren Ridloff, Chita Rivera, Nicolette Robinson, Dee Roscioli, Daphne Rubin-Vega, Walter Russell III, George Salazar, Elizabeth Judd Salinas, Rashidra Scott, Sevan, Jimmy Smits, Phillipa Soo, Brian Stokes Mitchell, Ephraim Sykes, Myra Lucretia Taylor, Jayden Theopile, Nasia Thomas, Skye Dakota Turner, Leslie Uggams, Villaseñor, Marlon Wayans, Rebecca Covington Webber, BD Wong, Karen Ziemba, the casts of Kiss My Aztec, KPOP, Missing Peace, and SIX, the Broadway Dreams Foundation Choir, and the In Our America dancers. To sign up for more information, visit

In addition to directing, Ms. Tommy served as executive producer alongside executive producers Julie Boardman, Nolan Doran, Halle Morse, and Jennifer Mudge. 

The concert is supported by a host committee that includes The Araca Group, Bruce Cohen, Darren Johnston, Oliver Roth, Megan Beyer, Eric Falkenstein, Sean Patrick Flahaven, Virginia Hepner, Cliff Hopkins, Alia Jones-Harvey, Tom Kirdahy, Cody Lassen, Marianne Mills, Brian Moreland, Greg Nobile, Kathy Olsen, Joan Rechnitz, Fiona Rudin, Thomas Schumacher, Jana Shea,  Lauren Shuler Donner, Tom Viertel, Barbara Whitman, and Dauna Williams.

Lia Chang

Lia Chang is an actor, a multi-media content producer and co-founder of Bev’s Girl Films, making films that foster inclusion and diversity on both sides of the camera. Bev’s Girl Films’ debut short film, Hide and Seek was a top ten film in the Asian American Film Lab’s 2015 72 Hour Shootout Filmmaking Competition, and she received a Best Actress nomination. BGF collaborates with and produces multi-media content for artists, actors, designers, theatrical productions, composers, musicians and corporations. Lia has appeared in the films Wolf, New Jack City, A Kiss Before Dying, King of New York, Big Trouble in Little China, The Last Dragon, Taxman. She stars in and served as Executive Producer for the short independent films Hide and Seek, Balancing Act, Rom-Com Gone Wrong, Belongingness and When the World was Young. She is also the Executive Producer for The Cactus, The Language Lesson, The Writer and Cream and 2 Shugahs.

All text, graphics, articles & photographs: © 2000-2020 Lia Chang Multimedia. All rights reserved. All materials contained on this site are protected by United States copyright law and may not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, displayed, published or broadcast without the prior written permission of Lia Chang. You may not alter or remove any trademark, copyright or other notice from copies of the content. For permission, please contact Lia at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s