PRIDE PLAYS Return to Rattlestick, June 25 – June 29, 2020 

Festival Producers Doug Nevin and Michael Urie, and Festival Director Nick Mayo, in partnership with Rattlestick Playwrights Theater, are proud to present Pride Plays 2020. Initially intended as a one-time celebration of Stonewall 50 and theatrical pride, the festival will return in 2020 due to rapturous community response and overwhelming demand. Pride Plays 2020 will run from June 25 – June 29, 2020 at Rattlestick Playwrights Theater in the West Village (224 Waverly Place).

Rattlestick Playwrights Theater Artistic Director Daniella Topol, Festival Director Nick Mayo, Festival Producers Michael Urie and Doug Nevin. Photo by Lia Chang

“Last June, we thought we’d do a handful of play readings celebrating the history of the LGBTQ+ movement since Stonewall,” said Festival Producer Michael Urie. “That handful turned into nearly 20 performances over 5 days, featuring over 200 artists. People showed up. We realized that history was only the beginning and the future had a story to tell, too. So we’re coming back with another festival of play readings that tell the story of the LGBTQ+ experience past, present and future, and honor those who showed up then and are still showing up.”

2019 Tony Awards winners Terrence McNally and André De Shields. Photo by Lia Chang

Pride Plays 2019 featured plays by Terrence McNally, Paula Vogel, The Five Lesbian Brothers, William Hoffman, Robert Patrick, Jane Chambers, Jonathan Tolins, Phillip Dawkins, and Chay Yew. New plays and world or New York premieres included plays by Daaimah Mubashshir, Ryan Spahn, Eri Nox, Caroline Prugh, Michael Benjamin Washington, Eduardo Machado, MJ Kaufman, and a presentation of new works from Trans Lab artists Ashley Lauren Rogers, Naomi Charlotte Thieves, Mariam Bazeed, Corinne Donly, and Eamon Boylan. Pride Plays also featured selections from the musicals Eighty Sixed with book, music, and lyrics by Sam Salmond, based on the book by David Feinberg and Interstate with music by Melissa Li and book and lyrics by Melissa Li & Kit Yan.

Kit Yan and Melissa Li. Photo by Lia Chang
The company of Terrence McNally’s SOME MEN: Back Row: David Turner, Dominic Colon, Ricardo Davila, James Cusati Moyer, David Ryan Smith, Adam Cantor, Michael Urie, Sam Gonzalez, Alton Alburo, Michael Mastro, Ryan Haddad, Jordan Cooper, Lance Roberts.
Middle Row: Thomas Jay Ryan, Everett Quinton, Andre De Shields, Murray Hill, Randy Harrison, Larry Powell, Vishal Vaidya, Bobby Steggart, Michael Cyril Creighton, Stephen Spinella, John Benjamin Hickey, Stephen DeRosa, Ned Riseley, Calvin Leon Smith, Kevin Chamberlin
Front Row: Tom Deckman, Will Blum, Arnie Burton, Jose Llana, Frank DiLela, Colin Hanlon, Satya Bhabha, Ken Barnett, Billy Carter, Marc Vietor, Mark Nelson, Daniel Butler, Dylan Guerra. Photo by Lia Chang
André De Shields and the Company of Terrence McNally’s SOME MEN. Photo by Lia Chang

Inside the Pride Plays’ Reading of SOME MEN with 2019 Tony Award Winners Terrence McNally and André De Shields at Rattlestick. 

“One of the joys of last year’s festival was the opportunity to look back at some of the moments that shaped the LGBTQ rights movement in our country, and how the past impacted the present,” said Festival Producer Doug Nevin. “We are excited to take an even deeper dive this year into how the pain, activism and leadership of the past got us to where we are, and how they might point us to the future. It’s a privilege to continue telling the story of pride through the language we understand: theater.”

Jonathan Tolins’ THE LAST SUNDAY IN JUNE: Seated: Patrick Breen, Joey Odom, Tyler Osgood, Ted Snowden, Playwright Jonathan Tolins, Daniel K. Isaac and Taylor Trensch. Standing: Pascale Armand, Brock Yurich, Preston Sadleir, Zachary Booth, Adam Chanler-Berat and Director Nic Cory. Photo by Lia Chang

Pride Plays’ Reading: Adam Chanler-Berat, Preston Sadleir, Daniel K Isaac, Taylor Trensch and More in Jonathan Tolins’ THE LAST SUNDAY IN JUNE at Rattlestick 

Joining the Pride Plays team is Literary Manager and Associate Producer George Strus. Playwrights looking to submit their plays for consideration in Pride Plays 2020 should email for more information. Submissions will close on January 20th, 2020.

Chay Yew’s A LANGUAGE OF OUR OWN: Festival Producer Doug Nevin, Will Seefried, Festival Producer Michael Urie, Alton Alburo, Director Mei Ann Teo, Jon Norman Schneider, Vichet Chum and Gaven Trinidad. Photo by Lia Chang

Pride Plays’ Reading: Vichet Chum, Alton Alburo, Jon Norman Schneider and Will Seefried in Chay Yew’s A LANGUAGE OF THEIR OWN at Rattlestick 

More information about programming, artists, and ways to get involved with be announced at a later date.

Chay Yew, Daniel K. Isaac, Adam Chanler Berat, Patrick Breen, Taylor Trensch, Vichet Chum, Alton Alburo, Jon Norman Schneider, Jason Tam, Jon Rua, Kiet Tai Cao and More Set for PRIDE PLAYS Readings at Rattlestick Playwrights Theater on June 23 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s