HADESTOWN Garners 12 Outer Critics Circle Award Nominations and Sets Release Date for Original Broadway Cast Recording

Hadestown, the new musical by Anaïs Mitchell, developed with Rachel Chavkin, will digitally release the show’s Original Cast Recording on Friday, June 7. Additionally, the recording will be available as a double-CD with a release date to be announced.

Eva Noblezada, André De Shields, Reeve Carney, Patrick Page, Amber Gray and Company. Photo by Lia Chang

The Hadestown Original Broadway Cast Recording will be produced by David Lai and Todd Sickafoose who previously produced the beloved 2017 live recording from the show’s earlier run at New York Theatre Workshop. To date, the live recording has been streamed an astounding 14 million times according to Nielsen SoundScan.

Front Row: HADESTOWN Choreographer David Neumann, Director Rachel Chavkin and Creator Anaïs Mitchell with the company. Photo by Lia Chang
Front Row: HADESTOWN Choreographer David Neumann, Director Rachel Chavkin and Creator Anaïs Mitchell with the company. Photo by Lia Chang

Hadestown received 12 Outer Critics Circle Award nominations, more than any other show this season. The show, currently playing to sold-out audiences at the Walter Kerr Theatre (219 West 48th Street), is led by Reeve Carney, André De Shields, Amber Gray, Eva Noblezada, and Patrick Page. They are joined by Jewelle Blackman, Yvette Gonzalez-Nacer, and Kay Trinidad as the Fates. The Workers Chorus is played by Afra Hines, Timothy Hughes, John Krause, Kimberly Marable, and Ahmad Simmons. The full cast includes swings Malcolm Armwood, T. Oliver Reid, Jessie Shelton, and Khaila Wilcoxon.

Hadestown garnered nominations for Outstanding New Broadway Musical, Outstanding Actor in a Musical for Reeve Carney, Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical for Amber Gray, Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical for André De Shields, Outstanding Book of a Musical and Outstanding New Score for Anaïs Mitchell, Outstanding Director of a Musical for Rachel Chavkin, Outstanding Choreographer David Neumann, Outstanding Scenic Design for Rachel Hauck, Outstanding Lighting Design for Bradley King and  Outstanding Sound Design for Nevin Steinberg and Jessica Paz, Outstanding Orchestrations for Michael Chorney, Todd Sickafoose.

Amber Gray and André De Shields have been nominated for 2019 Drama League Awards. Photo by Lia Chang

Hadestown has also received 3 Drama League nominations for Outstanding Production of a Play, while Amber Gray and André De Shields have been nominated for Distinguished Performance Awards.

Hadestown marks the first time in over a decade that a woman has been the solo author of a musical: writing the music, lyrics, and book, and is the fourth time in Broadway history a woman has accomplished this creative feat. The show originated as Mitchell’s indie theater project that toured Vermont which she then turned into an acclaimed album. With Chavkin, her artistic collaborator, Hadestown has been transformed into a genre-defying new musical that blends modern American folk music with New Orleans-inspired jazz to reimagine a sweeping ancient tale.

Rachel Chavkin and Anaïs Mitchell. Photo by Lia Chang

Following two intertwining love stories – that of young dreamers Orpheus and Eurydice, and that of King Hades and his wife Persephone – Hadestown invites audiences on a hell-raising journey to the underworld and back. Mitchell’s beguiling melodies and Chavkin’s poetic imagination pit industry against nature, doubt against faith, and fear against love. Performed by a vibrant ensemble of actors, dancers, and singers, Hadestown delivers a deeply resonant and defiantly hopeful theatrical experience.

Todd Sickafoose, Liam Robinson, Rachel Hauck, David Neumann, Erica Sweany, Rachel Chavkin and Cody Owen Stine. Photo by Lia Chang

The creative team for Broadway features Drama Desk Award nominee Rachel Hauck (set design), three-time Tony Award nominee Michael Krass (costume design), Tony Award winner Bradley King (lighting design), Tony Award nominee Nevin Steinberg and Jessica Paz (sound design), three-time Bessie Award® winner David Neumann (choreography), Liam Robinson (music direction and vocal arrangements), Michael Chorney, Sickafoose (arrangements and orchestrations), Ken Cerniglia (dramaturgy), and Stewart/Whitley (casting).

Inside the Opening Night Afterparty of HADESTOWN with André De Shields 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s