Sean Carvajal and Ashley Park Receive Actors Equity’s Clarence Derwent Award

The Actors’ Equity Foundation’s 2018 Clarence Derwent Awards for most promising female and male performers on the New York metropolitan scene have gone to Sean Carvajal (Jesus Hopped the ‘A’ Train) and Ashley Park (Mean Girls, KPOP).

Ashley Park, Sean Carvajal
Ashley Park, Sean Carvajal

Carvajal received a 2018 Lucille Lortel Award for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Play for his portrayal of Angel Cruz in Jesus Hopped the ‘A’ Train at Signature Theatre. He and his co-star Edi Gathegi will receive a 2018 Drama Desk Award this year. As an actor, some of his work includes: Ghetto Babylon (59E59), Lissabon (LaMaMa), Holy Land (HERE Arts Center), Seven Spots on The Sun (Cincinnati Playhouse), Dominica, That Fat Ugly Ho (LAByrinth Intensive Ensemble), Between Riverside and Crazy (Studio Theatre), Water by the Spoonful (Premiere Stages).

Sean Carvajal and Edi Gathegi of “Jesus Hopped the ‘A’ Train” to Receive Special 2018 Drama Desk Award 

Park just earned a Tony nomination for her portrayal of Gretchen in Mean Girls and received a 2018 Lucille Lortel Award for Outstanding Lead Actress in a Musical for KPOP. Other Broadway credits include: Tuptim in Lincoln Center’s The King and I (Grammy nom); Celeste 1 in Sunday in the Park with George; Mamma Mia!. National Tour: Gabrielle in R&H’s Cinderella. TV: “Nightcap” (PopTV/Lionsgate). Other: Mwe in KPOP! (Off-Broadway); Carnegie Hall; Vocals in The Greatest Showman (Fox); Luisa in Fantasticks (Pasadena Playhouse); Maid Marian in Hood (Dallas Theatre Center); Pittsburgh Civic Light Opera.

Established in 1945 by Clarence Derwent, distinguished actor and president of Equity from 1946-1952, the award is the oldest on Broadway. Past recipients include Nina Arianda, Annaleigh Ashford, Annette Bening, Kristin Chenoweth, Morgan Freeman, Allison Janney, Frances Sternhagen, Michael Urie, Christopher Walken, Fritz Weaver and in 2014, Whitney Bashor and Steven Boyer.

The Actors’ Equity Foundation, a philanthropic and humanitarian nonprofit organization, was created in 1962 to aid and assists the members of the acting profession and to promote the theatre arts. It is separate from Actors’ Equity Association and is funded by estate bequests and individual donations.






Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s